Linux + Hyper-V = VDI? Part 2   2 comments


So, where are we today with regards to our little checklist? Let’s recap what we need to do:

  • Configure a VM for the first time to accept RDP, redirect the user’s home folder as well as their favorites
  • Make a template out of the VM and generalize it for automatic deployment
  • Manage the actual Hyper-V environment, with or without a clustered platform
  • Manage the virtual machines, including templates and resource management
  • Manage the OS, including patching and troubleshooting
  • Automate the VDI solution as much as possible

So far I’ve managed to get RDP sort of up and running with the xrdp server. I write “sort of” because it lacks a couple of features – the major ones being no support for sound, it’s rather slow and the letter ‘d’ is mapped as a “Show desktop” shortcut, even after I removed the shortcut in Ubuntu.

Some of these might be sorted out in future releases of xrdp or by spending enough time configuring and tinkering with the settings. I don’t have that time though but let’s just cut this part some slack and move on to the next part.

I did not manage to redirect my home folder, nor my favorites but that was just because I almost threw my keyboard out the window every time I pressed ‘d’ and all my windows on my Ubuntu client disappeared. It should be quite doable to mount a Windows/SMB share and then create a symlink to these shares.

The tricky part is to generalize this setup so that any user that logs on gets his/her home folder and favorites. This I have yet to solve but I will give it another stab later, maybe tomorrow.

After that we try to create some sort of template out of the VM. Should be interesting!

Posted 12 May, 2011 by martinnr5 in What if...

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “Linux + Hyper-V = VDI? Part 2

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, I am wondering if you were able to find a solution to this problem?
    I am trying to deploy a CentOS 6.3 desktop as a VDI Collection in RDS… I have successfully intalled Linux Integration services 3.4, but when I try to add it to the virtual desktop template i receive the error “could not retrieve the virtual desktop template details”

    • Hi.

      I never did pursue this idea as I couldn’t find a good business perspective on it. As far as I know it shouldn’t be a problem creating a Linx VM template in VMM though.

      Or is your error not related to VMM?

Leave a Reply

